[Beowulf] CFP : ISPA-2004

Cho Li Wang clwang at csis.hku.hk
Thu May 13 22:54:49 PDT 2004


Second International Symposium on 
Parallel and Distributed Processing and Applications
Hong Kong, China, 13 - 15 Dec. 2004

With the advance of computer networks and hardware technology, parallel
and distributed processing has become a key technology which plays an
important part in determining future research and development activities
in many academic and industrial branches. It provides a means to solve
computationally intensive problems by improving processing speed. It is
also the only viable approach to building highly reliable and inherently
distributed applications. Following the success of the first conference
ISPAˇ2003, held in Aizu-Wakamatsu City, Japan,ISPAˇ04 will provide a
forum for scientists and engineers in academia and industry to exchange
and discuss their experiences, new ideas, research results, and
applications about all aspects of parallel and distributed computing.
ISPA'04 will feature session presentations, workshops,and keynote

Topics of particular interest include, but are not limited to :
* Computer  networks
* Network routing and communication algorithms
* Parallel/distributed system architectures
* Parallel/distributed algorithms
* Wireless networks,  mobile and pervasive computing
* Internet computing and Web technologies
* Peer-to-peer computing
* Grid and cluster computing
* Reliability, fault-tolerance, and security
* Performance evaluation and measurements
* Tools and environments for software development
* Distributed systems and applications
* High-performance scientific and engineering computing
* Database applications and data mining
* Biological/molecular computing

Submissions should include an abstract, key words, the e-mail address
of the correspondingauthor, and must not exceed 15 pages, including
tables and figures, with PDF, PostScript, or MSWord format.  Electronic
submission through the submission website is strongly encouraged. Hard
copies will be accepted only if electronic submission is not possible.
Submission of apaper should be regarded as an undertaking that, should
the paper be accepted,at least one ofthe authors will register and
attend the conference to present the work. 

Workshop proposals due:  15 June 2004 
Paper  submission due:   1 July 2004
Acceptance notification: 30 Aug 2004
Camera-ready due:        30 Sept. 2004
Conference:              13-15 Dec 2004

The proceedings of the symposium will be published in Springer's Lecture
Notes in Computer Science. A selection of the best papers for the
will be published in a special issueof The Journal of Supercomputing and
International Journal of High Performance Computing andNetworking

The program committee will select one winner for the Best Paper Award
(all regular papers areeligible) and one winner for the Best Student
Paper Award (only the regular papers whose firstauthor is a full-time
student are eligible). Each winner will be presented at the
a certificate and US$200. 

Prof. Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee, USA
- "Present and Future Supercomputer Architectures"

Prof. Linoel Ni, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
- "Challenges in P2P Computing"


General Co-Chairs:
Minyi Guo,  Univ. of Aizu, Japan
Francis Lau, Univ. of Hong Kong, H.K.

Program Co-Chairs:
Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic Univ, H.K.
Laurence T. Yang, St. Francis Xavier Univ. Canada

Vice Program Co-Chairs
Rajkumar Buyya, Univ of Melbourne, Australia
Weijia Jia, City Univ. of Hong Kong, H.K.
B.D. Martino, Second Univ. of Naples, Italy
Workshop Chair
Hong-Va Leong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Publicity Chair
Cho-Li Wang, Univ. of Hong Kong, H.K.

Local Organisation Chair
Allan K.Y. Wong, H.K. PloyU, Hong Kong

Publication Chair
Alvin T.S. Chan, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Registration Chair
Joseph K.Y. Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University

Steering Committee
Minyi Guo, Univ. of Aziu, Japan
Jiannong Cao, H.K. PolyU, H.K.
Yi Pan, George State Univ. USA
Jie Wu, Florida Altantic Univ. USA
Li Xie, Nanjing Univ.

Program Committee

David Abramson, Monash Univ. Australia
Selim G. Akl, Queens University, Canada
Giuseppe Anastasi, University of Pisa, Italy
Hamid R. Arabnia, University of Georgia, USA
Amy Apon, Univ. of Arkansas, USA
David A. Bader, University of New Mexico, USA
Mark Baker, University of Portsmouth, U.K. 
Virendra C. Bhavsar, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Wentong Cai, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Daoxu Chen, Nanjing University, China
Xing Cai, University of Oslo, Norway
Kessler Christoph - Linkoping University, Sweden
Kranzlmueller Dieter - Linz University, Austria
A. Goscinski, Deakin U. Australia
Yanxiang He, Wuhan University, China
Hung-Chang Hsiao, National Tsing-Hua University, Taiwan
Ching-Hsien Hsu, Chung Hua University, Taiwan
Chun-Hsi Huang, University of Connecticut, USA
Xiaohua Jia, City University of Hong Kong
Beihong Jin, Institute of Software, CAS, China
Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Sciene and Technology, China
Hatsuhiko Kato, Shonan Institute of Technology, Japan
Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Tau Leng, Scalable System Group, Dell Inc., USA
Jie Li, University of Tskuba, Japan
Lei Li, Hosei University, Japan
Minglu Li, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Wenjun Li, UT Southwestern Medical Center, USA
Xiaoming Li, Peking University, China
Wei-keng Liao - Northwestern University, Chicago, USA
Man Lin, St Francis Xavier University, Canada
Jiangchuan Liu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Jian Lu, Nanjing University, China
Paul Lu, Univ. of Alberta, Canada
Jianhua Ma, Hosei University, Japan
Rodrigo Mello, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Schellekens Michel, National University of Ireland, Cork, Ireland
Jun Ni, University of Iowa, USA
Y. Pan, George State Univ., USA
Yuzhong Sun, Institute of Computing Technology, CAS, China
Sabin Tabirca, University College Cork, Ireland
Ruppa K. Thulasiram, University of Manitoba, Canada
Parimala Thulasiram, University of Manitoba, Canada
Dhaene Tom - University of  Antwerpen, Belgium
Sudharshan Vazhkudai, ORNL, USA
Guojung Wang, Central South University, China
Andrew L Wendelborn, University of Adelaide, Australia
Jie Wu, Florida Altanlic University, USA
Bing Xiao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Cheng-Zhong Xu, Wayne State Universuty, USA
Ming Xu, National University of Defence Technology, China
Zhiwei Xu, Institute of Computing Technology, CAS, China
Jun Zhang, University of Kentucky, USA
Xiaodong Zhang, William & Mary College, USA
Wei Zhao, Texas T&M University, USA
Weimin Zheng, Tsinghua University, Beijing 
Bingbing Zhou, University of Sydney, Australia
Wanlei Zhou, Deakin University, Australia
Xiaobao Zhou, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, USA
Ming Zhu, Drexel University, USA
A.Y. Zomaya, Univ. of Sydney, Australia

For more information,  please contact:

Dr. Jiannong Cao
Deartment of Computing
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Hung Hom, KLW, Hong Kong
Email: csjcao at comp.polyu.edu.hk

Prof. Laurence T. Yang
Department of Computer Science
St. Francis Xavier University
Antigonish, B2G 2W5, NS, Canada
Email: lyang at stfx.ca

More information about the Beowulf mailing list